Home Page

Our Curriculum

Picture 1
Picture 2
Picture 3

Our Curriculum


Thank you for taking a look at our curriculum pages.   Below you will find an outline of Key Stages 1 and 2 Contexts for Learning, and also the Skill-Based Curriculum that underpins it. For more information on individual subjects, please see the overview documents at the bottom of the page.


You will also find an overview of our Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum, including core and specific areas of learning, and characteristics of learning.  


 If you'd like a more in-depth look at any of the information below, please take a look at our Teaching For Learning Policy, which you will find a link to at the bottom of this page.  


Key Stages 1 and 2 – The National Curriculum


Our curriculum has developed from thoughtful reflection about children’s experiences at school, our understanding of how children learn and a desire for children to both enjoy their experience at Primary school and to feel challenged and excited.


Contexts for Learning


‘Contexts for Learning’ are a series of wide reaching concepts that allow teachers to deliver the national curriculum creatively by making meaningful learning links. The National Curriculum is carefully allocated to different year groups under the context headings and the class teachers work as a team to develop meaningful and creative lessons from which to deliver the learning.


By learning in this way children are able to make connections between what they have learnt previously and their current learning. This allows them to retain knowledge, skills and understanding more easily.


At Aerodrome we understand that children enjoy learning in different ways and have different strengths. Our curriculum supports the different learning styles and gives value to the full range of National Curriculum Subjects taught.


Our Contexts For Learning



Context 1

Context 2

Context 3


Sense It


Creature Comforts


Who Cares?






Local life           


Water Worlds

Water Worlds

Cultural Carnival



Living Life

Living Life


The Natural Harvest

Changing Worlds        

Changing Worlds         



To find out more about how the contexts relate to National Curriculum subjects, please take a look at the Subject Overviews at the bottom of this page.


How is the Curriculum Planned?


Our Long Term Planning consists of the overall allocation of the National Curriculum  programmes of Study. Class Teachers develop enquiry based medium term plans using the children’s input as a starting point. They plan collaboratively and then develop lesson designs based on their own class. Teachers personalise learning for their class, groups and for individuals.


Skills Based Curriculum


The ‘Context for Learning Curriculum’ is underpinned  by our ‘Skills Based Curriculum’ based on four groups of skills:


Social and Communication

Creative Thinking

Critical Thinking

Independence and Resilience


To find out more, take a look at the Key Skills Curriculum document below. 


The Early Years Foundation Stage


The Foundation Stage includes all children in our Nursery and Reception classes. The Early Years Foundation Stage is the statutory curriculum which is followed by all childcare providers, nursery settings and reception classes.


The curriculum is divided into core and specific key areas of learning and development. They are:


The prime areas of learning:


communication and language
physical development
personal, social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning:


understanding the world
expressive arts and design


The learning characteristics:


playing and exploring
active learning
creating and thinking critically


Together, these areas of learning make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for your children as they grow, learn and develop. At Aerodrome we strive to ensure that each child’s learning and development occur as an outcome of their individual interests and abilities so our planned learning reflects this.


An EYFS learning journey will be completed for each child.  Each child will be assessed in relation to the 17 Early Leaning Goal descriptors.  Assessments will be based primarily on observation of daily activities and events.  For each ELG, practitioners must judge whether a child is meeting the level of development expected at the end of the Reception Year (expected), exceeding this level (exceeding), or not yet reaching this level (emerging).


The completed EYFS Profile includes a short commentary on each child’s skills and abilities in relation to the three key characteristics of effective learning.